Health & Wellness
Skip Navigation Links.
Skip Navigation Links.
Skip Navigation Links.

Gluten-Free Products at Harveys

We offer a wide selection of gluten free products at Harveys! Just look for the shelf tags in the store.

What is gluten free?

Celiac disease is a sensitivity to gluten, a protein found in grains, wheat, rye and barley. This disease can trigger an autoimmune response in which the small intestine villi are damaged, preventing nutrients from being absorbed. When gluten is removed from the diet, the small intestines will start to heal and overall health will improve. Check with your doctor before starting a gluten free diet.

So then what is Gluten?

Gluten (from Latin gluten, "glue") is a protein composite found in foods processed from wheat and related grain species, including barley and rye. Gluten gives elasticity to dough, helping it rise and keep its shape and often gives the final product a chewy texture. Gluten may also be found in some cosmetics, hair products, and other dermatological preparations.
(Source: wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten)

Glue - just like we used in school - along with paper mache, is made from the gluten in wheat-like products. It's this property that causes problems in people with Celiac disease and gluten intolerance.

Be sure to look for tags like the one shown here to identify gluten-free products in the store.

Find great Gluten-Free recipes on Harveys Gluten-Free Pinterest board >

Enjoy these naturally gluten free foods

  • All fresh fruit & vegetables
  • Most dairy products (check labels for any fillers)
  • Meats, poultry & fish
  • Beans & lentils of every type
  • All nuts & seeds
  • Starches such as corn, rice, potato, parsnip, turnip, yucca and all other tubers

Gluten free grains, flours, cereals & starches

  • Brown rice/brown rice flour
  • White rice or sweet rice flour
  • Indian ricegrass
  • Rice bran
  • Garbanzo bean flour
  • Fava bean flour
  • Nut flours (almond, hazelnut, pecan)
  • Amaranth
  • Quinoa
  • Millet
  • Corn
  • Arrowroot
  • Potato flour
  • Sorghum
  • Soybeans/flour
  • Buckwheat
  • Tapioca
  • Flax
  • Polenta
  • Teff

Avoid these gluten-containing foods

  • Wheat – all forms
  • Barley
  • Rye
  • Bulgur
  • Semolina
  • Durum
  • Spelt
  • Triticale
  • Graham Flour
  • Couscous
  • Beer, Ale, Lager
  • Malt

Check these foods carefully as they may contain gluten

  • Meats injected with broths
  • Some marinades
  • Self-basting meats
  • Commercially prepared drinks
  • Some nondairy creamers
  • Processed deli meats
  • Thickening agents
  • Imitation seafood
  • Seasonings

The scoop on oats

Oats need special attention. Since some oats may be processed in the same facilities as wheat, contamination can occur even with the best cleaning protocol. Look for oats with the gluten-free claim.

Get fortified

Most gluten-free foods are not fortified. Make sure you're getting your daily needs of calcium, vitamin D, iron, folate and vitamin B12, and remember to check labels to make sure no gluten fillers are used.

Substitutions for 1 Tbsp. wheat flour

Substitutions for 1 Tbsp. wheat flour

1 1/2 tsp. Arrowroot starch
1 1/2 tsp. Cornstarch
1 1/2 tsp. Potato starch or flour
1 1/2 tsp. Gelatin powder (unflavored)
2 tbs. Quick-cooking tapioca
1 Tbsp. White rice flour
1 Tbsp. Tapioca starch or flour
1 Tbsp. Bean flour (garbanzo)

Talk to your doctor or a registered dietician if you have any questions or concerns about living with a gluten-free diet.

Understanding other food allergies (PDFs)

Learn more about other food allergies here:
How to Read a Label for a MILK-FREE or EGG-FREE Diet
How to Read a Label for a PEANUT-FREE Diet
How to Read a Label for a SHELLFISH-FREE or WHEAT-FREE Diet
How to Read a Label for a TREE-NUT-FREE or SOY-FREE Diet
Nut-Free Snacks for a Nut-Free School
Allergy-Free Party Planning

​​​

Weekly
Specials

See Specials ›
 

Hometown
Rewards Key

 

Save $ with Keymail

Sign up here:

​​​​
 ​
Gluten Free: default
Search